Conservative Action Project: Amnesty Order is Illegal

American Flag

ACRU President Susan Carleson joined with 28 conservative leaders to urge congress to take action against President Obama’s illegal Amnesty Executive Order.

The Conservative Action Project, chaired by former Attorney General Edwin Meese and The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop, is designed to facilitate conservative leaders working together on behalf of common goals. Participants include the CEO’s of over 100 organizations representing all major elements of the conservative movement-economic, social and national security.

Senators and House Members Must Continue the Fight against President Obama’s Unconstitutional Executive Amnesty for Illegal Immigrants

February 3, 2015
Washington, D.C.

Opposition to President Obama’s unconstitutional executive amnesty on illegal immigration was a key issue in last year’s election. Nearly every Republican now serving in Congress ran promising to stop President Obama’s lawlessness in this area. As part of the “CRomnibus” deal in December, funding for the Department of Homeland Security (the department responsible for funding and implementing this illegal immigration scheme) was set to expire at the end of February. This, we were told by Republican congressional leaders, would allow the new Republican majority to block funding for executive amnesty.

Not only should this be a fulfillment of a campaign promise, it is the principled position and good public policy. Consider the following points:

  1. Failure to block amnesty will result in more illegal immigration to our country, further straining efforts to secure our border.
  2. It is unjust to reward those who are here illegally when millions of others are following the law to come to this country legally.
  3. Much of the funding for homeland security is vital for the protection of our country, including critical funding for border security. Funding this amnesty plan will divert resources and attention away from these important issues.
  4. The immediate influx of illegal immigrants will put even more burden on federal and state social welfare programs.
  5. Challenging the President on this unconstitutional abuse of power reasserts the prerogatives of Congress and supports respect for the rule of law.

We thank House Republican leaders for keeping their promise and passing strong legislation through the House that funds the real priorities of protecting the homeland, but blocks funding for President Obama’s executive amnesty. We are also encouraged by Senate Republican leaders who have committed to bringing up the House language and engaging President Obama and Senate Democrats to end this immigration lawlessness. The Senate should take up the House bill without delay and without extension or gimmicks.

We urge leaders and members of both chambers to continue to stand with the overwhelming majority of the American people for the rule of law and an immigration system that treats both Americans and legal immigrants with respect and dignity by blocking funding for President Obama’s executive amnesty.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Former Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan

The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
Former White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan

Mr. L. Brent Bozell, III

The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council

Mr. Michael Needham
Heritage Action for American

Mr. Erick Erickson

The Honorable Ken Cuccinelli
Senate Conservatives Fund

Mrs. Phyllis Schlafly
Susan B. Anthony List

The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring

Mr. Roy Beck
Numbers USA Action

Mr. David N. Bossie
Citizens United

Mrs. Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots

Mr. Tim Wildmon
American Family Association

Mr. William L. Walton
Vice President
Council for National Policy

General William G. “Jerry” Boykin (US Army, retired)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council

The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.

The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Former Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan

The Honorable Alfred S. Regnery
Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund

Mrs. Kellyanne Conway
President and CEO
The Polling Company Inc./WomenTrend

Mr. C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Mr. Frank J. Gaffney, Jr.
President & CEO
Center for Security Policy

Mr. Christopher N. Malagisi
Young Conservatives Coalition

Mrs. Sandy Rios
Vice President
Family PAC Federal

Mr. Paul Caprio
Family PAC Federal

Mrs. Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

Mrs. Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness

Mrs. Susan Carleson
American Civil Rights Union

Mr. Charles J. Cooper
Cooper & Kirk, PLLC

Mr. Curt Levey
The Committee for Justice